Friday, April 9, 2010

Ranger Training Day 5

Welp, last night i was tired at 9pm. 9PM?! WTF. Seriously. and then i tweeted about how it really is putting a damper on my social life. I'm used to going out to DJ Nights no problem. In my old age of 28, its def changed to maybe 1 or 2 nights during the week..before that it was pretty much every night, and i'm totally cool w/ that, but since starting ranger training.... its pretty much going to be no nights out. It's slightly depressing to hit that "No" I wont be attending your facebook event if its during a weeknight. BUTTTTT, something has to be sacrificed right? Not that i drank a ton during the week anyways, but at least i know that i wont be having anything right before bed... and if i do want to go out, its gonna hafta be happy hours. ---which is kinda cool cause i NEVER do happy hours. that's always my gym time. Doesn't center city sips start soon. SCORE!

But yeah, this is putting a damper on my social life, but this is something that i REALLY wanted to do for myself. I coulda taken ranger training in the evening, but i wanted to do it early in the morning because I want to test and push myself. I really love challenging myself physically. And i think that's probably due to the fact that these are things that i thought i could never do when i was in the state i was in years ago. Large n in charge my friends.... the other reason i like physical challenge is from learning that i can become stronger. Building strength is one of THE COOLEST feelings in the whole wide freaking world. Becoming stronger is amazing. I never never never had that feeling or knew what it was until ranger training 1 day/wk at 12th st gym. I never could do a push up and now i'm ready for the sets. I'm ready for what's going to be thrown at me next. and i'm ready to compete on some level.. with myself and with others... i'm really looking forward to see how much stonger/faster I will become over the next 12 weeks. I wanna take a before and after pic too and i keep forgetting...

so, on to today. i was late. again. by about 5 mins F********CK. seriously. i talked to chewy about this. BTW Chewy is my guy buddy that I recruited to do training. So yeah, i talked to chewy about this and he's like, rach... what time do u stroll into work? ur not used to having to be on time in the morning. you're not a morning person. you're doing pretty good. and dude's gotta point.. but for next week i have an odd feeling that sgt. nate isn't gonna take any more excuses.... considering his motto is, "Don't Make Excuses, Make It Happen". SOOOOOOOOOOOOO, next week ima make it happen. thats all there is to it. i just GOTTA GET THE F UP.

So yeah, i missed the push up part of the PT test. which is where u see how many u can do in 2 mins. bummer. would have liked to know that but there were a lot of people that missed class today since it was rainy and cold out i guess.. so we'll prob do again monday... but for the sit ups, i did 66, which is REALLY REALLY good. I didnt even start to slow down or get winded until there was like 15 seconds left. My core is pretty freaking good and i owe that to pilates and ranger. After that we put our mats up (which i ended up leaving at rittenhouse by mistake and when i went back it was gone :( ) and headed over to the infamous fountain. The routine was such:

4 Sets, 10, 15, 20, 25 - Leaning Push Ups w/ a run around 1/4 of the park
4 Sets, 10, 15, 20, 25 - Dips w/ a run around 1/4 of the park
4 Sets of 20 - V Sit ups w/ a run around 1/4 of the park

This is rough doing back to back w/ no breaks and i calculated that all those short runs totaled about 1.8 miles. not bad. This was the kinda training i liked cause it's tough. And when it's tough and there's a bit of a struggle, you know it's workin. I also liked this work out cause honestly, it showed me how decent of shape i'm currently in. I kinda rocked it out. I pace myself properly and I feel i have pretty darn good endurance. A new thing i'm building. :)

We've been informed by Nate to make sure we get a full night's sleep sunday cause it's apparently on for monday. and chewy ran into nate later and nate again has said that we all pretty much need to be scared. AWESOME. can't wait. Until next week kids!

No comments: