Well first let me start off by saying last night i ran as part of my training for the broad street run. its not in my schedule to do back to back running, but i didnt want to run thursday (today) cause i wanted to be in good shape for the PT test we are doing at ranger training on Friday. So im trying to work around this whole dual training thing... well... running back to back days was not smart. I completely and totally exhausted my body and my mind... i was supposed to run 4 which should be completely doable for me, but at 3 that was it... i mean shit, when i hit 1.5 i was like, damn.... at first i got upset with myself.. like why can't i do this. i should be able to do this... but then i reasoned with myself and i'm taking on a lot at once. And to use this is a learning experience... No back to back running for me! so no more running until saturdays 6 mile. OHHHH GOod gravy, that'll be a first...
if i havent mentioned already. I AM NOT A RUNNER. never have been cause i've been overweight most my life. So i just have to remember that even if i run 1 mile, thats a big accomplishment. i used to get dizzy, winded and want to throw up after running 1/2 around a track. lol
but yeah, so hopefully some days off my feet will help w/ the blisters and soreness and on friday when i pick up new breathable shoes, this will help. probably not smart to run 6 miles in new shoes so i guess the old ones will have to do for saturday and i'll start fresh w/ the new next week...
so about ranger training... i made it at 7:01... this whole hauling ass in the morning is becoming a REAL annoyance. i dont like to be frenzied..and i tried my whole setting alarm at 5:50. that didnt help. well i only set 1 at 5:50. I guess i have to set them all at 5:50. YES friends.. I have 3 alarms. the loud NPR one in my office where i have to get up to hit snooze, my phone, and XPN next to my bed. i'll give that a go tonight. we'll see what happens.
training was pretty light today to give a slight break for the PT test tomorrow. We did some light cardio w/ some jogs around in the grass and a lot of stretching. many of us were pretty tight. and i havent given myself a good stretch or had a yoga class all week, so this was needed and felt LOVELY.
The PT test tomorrow is 2 mins to see how many sit ups and push ups we can do in that given amount of time... not sure what else he has in store for us, so we'll see!
For now i'm going to keep my runs to Mon and Wed or Tue and Thur (+Sat long run and now i see in my training a supplemental short sun run). hopefully this coincides ok w/ the intensities of ranger training. If not and i'm beat, i'll just not run and it will have to wait till next day. thats all there is to it. no sense killing myself. i'mm supposed to enjoy this, right?
oh btw... w/ running... i wouldnt say that i absolutely love it. who knows how long i'll carry out this running thing. my main goal to do it was because i never could and with all the accomplishments i've achieved i hit a point and was like, ok, i can do this now... So, yeah, we got the 10 mile broad st run coming up may 4. once that's over.. i dont know, we'll see... a marathon would be cool to say i did as well, but again... not exactly sure if i'm a fan of running... i mean, i say this now w/ the lows of this week.. usually on saturdays w/ the long runs and the team is when i hit my highs.... so perhaps running is only best for me as a shared experience w/ others...
anywhoooo tata for now
No comments:
Post a Comment